Friday, July 23, 2010

Five Gannett newspapers win features prizes

[Screenshot shows Fort Myers' winning 'Hunger' project]

The American Association of Sunday and Feature Editors today announced winners of its 21st annual Excellence in Feature Writing Contest. They included:

Division 1 (under 90,000 circ.)
Charles Runnells, Fort Myers News-Press, honorable mention, feature speciality reporting

Staff, "Hunger," Fort Myers News-Press, third place, multimedia storytelling

Division 2 (90,001-199,999)
Jessica Bliss, The Tennessean, honorable mention, general feature

Peter Cooper, The Tennessean, first place, feature speciality reporting

Michael Morain, The Des Moines Register, second place, multimedia storytelling

Staff, The Tennessean, third place, social media enterprise

Division 3 (more than 200,000)
Jaimee Rose, The Arizona Republic, second place, general feature

Jeff Seidel, Detroit Free Press, honorable mention, general feature

Brian McCollum, Detroit Free Press, honorable mention, a&e feature

Staff, Motown, (Detroit Free Press), second place, multimedia storytelling

1 comment:

Jim says: "Proceed with caution; this is a free-for-all comment zone. I try to correct or clarify incorrect information. But I can't catch everything. Please keep your posts focused on Gannett and media-related subjects. Note that I occasionally review comments in advance, to reject inappropriate ones. And I ignore hostile posters, and recommend you do, too."

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.